HBCU History

HBCUs (Historically Black Colleges and Universities) are institutions of higher education established before the Civil Rights Act of 1964 with the mission and intent to solely serve the African-American community. Currently there are 101 HBCUs, composed of both private and state institutions, and dating back to as early as 1837 (Cheyney University).